Aion Forums

Aion Forums (http://forums.na.aiononline.com/na//index.php)
-   Public Test Server (http://forums.na.aiononline.com/na//forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   No more Antialiasing option. (http://forums.na.aiononline.com/na//showthread.php?t=58588)

Electrickrypt - Vaizel 05-12-2011 01:36 PM

No more Antialiasing option.
 
I do not see an option for Antialiasing in the menu option. Where did it go? I can't play without antialiasing. I guess I will have to force via graphics driver, though I would like some more insight on this.

Aiada - Tiamat 05-12-2011 01:39 PM

Re: No more Antialiasing option.
 
If you enable it via the graphic card control panel then it will corrupt the game graphics. I don't recommend it, I tried and it made my screen have rainbow colors.

I think with the new graphic engine it doesn't support AA. :(

The new engine also has terrible performance.

Electrickrypt - Vaizel 05-12-2011 01:46 PM

Re: No more Antialiasing option.
 
[QUOTE=Aiada - Zikel;935120]If you enable it via the graphic card control panel then it will corrupt the game graphics. I don't recommend it, I tried and it made my screen have rainbow colors.

I think with the new graphic engine it doesn't support AA. :(

The new engine also has terrible performance.[/QUOTE]

This is a huge bummer. As you said, forcing antialiasing will corrupt the graphics. Here is the result...

[URL="http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d3/e_krypt/Aion0000.jpg"]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d3/e_krypt/Aion0000.jpg[/URL]

This is terrible. I can't stand jagged edges.

Electrickrypt - Vaizel 05-12-2011 02:08 PM

Re: No more Antialiasing option.
 
For ATI users, there is a new feature available that is basically another form of antialiasing. It is called Morphological Filtering and can be enabled via the Catalyst Control Center next to the Anti-Aliasing.

Since Anti-Aliasing is not supported with this 2.5 upgrade, this Morphological Filtering can come in handy for the ones who prefer to use Anti-Aliasing to get rid of the sloppy jagged edges.

More info on Morphological Filtering here:
[URL="http://www.hardocp.com/article/2010/11/01/amd_morphological_aa_performance_iq_review/"]http://www.hardocp.com/article/2010/11/01/amd_morphological_aa_performance_iq_review/[/URL]

I currently am running the 5870 2Gb and Morphological Filtering is fully supported.

Solynn - Siel 05-12-2011 02:46 PM

Re: No more Antialiasing option.
 
Click Options, go to the graphics settings tab. Then under graphic settings, click the arrow next to advanced. The Anti-aliasing option is right there. You're Welcome. :F

Twilightangel - Tiamat 05-12-2011 02:51 PM

Re: No more Antialiasing option.
 
maybe if you look a lil harder and read there are ops

there one called smooth outline or something like that does the same thing. So how about go back ingame and read the settings again.


Oh also I dont really force any graphics from my card I use the setting Enhanced on my graphics card there also a override to

Kera - Siel 05-12-2011 03:03 PM

Re: No more Antialiasing option.
 
[QUOTE=Twilightangel - Zikel;935252]maybe if you look a lil harder and read there are ops

there one called smooth outline or something like that does the same thing. So how about go back ingame and read the settings again.


Oh also I dont really force any graphics from my card I use the setting Enhanced on my graphics card there also a override to[/QUOTE]

Maybe instead of being rude, you could post something worth reading.

Smooth outlines doesn't do anything NEAR as much as antialiasing does. I'd like a response from the GMs about this, because it's really disappointing. To me, the trade off for a slightly better graphics engine is NOT worth the horrendous jaggies that are everywhere, even with the stupid "smooth edges" option on maximum.

Please change this, NC. Jaggies are ugly and I can't stand looking at them.

Electrickrypt - Vaizel 05-12-2011 03:15 PM

Re: No more Antialiasing option.
 
[QUOTE=Echol - Siel;935245]Click Options, go to the graphics settings tab. Then under graphic settings, click the arrow next to advanced. The Anti-aliasing option is right there. You're Welcome. :F[/QUOTE]

I am not even going to respond to this.

[QUOTE=Twilightangel - Zikel;935252]maybe if you look a lil harder and read there are ops

there one called smooth outline or something like that does the same thing. So how about go back ingame and read the settings again.


Oh also I dont really force any graphics from my card I use the setting Enhanced on my graphics card there also a override to[/QUOTE]

That option is crap. I was still left with jagged edges. I will continue to use Morphological Filtering until there is AA support.

[QUOTE=Kera - Siel;935268]Maybe instead of being rude, you could post something worth reading.

Smooth outlines doesn't do anything NEAR as much as antialiasing does. I'd like a response from the GMs about this, because it's really disappointing. To me, the trade off for a slightly better graphics engine is NOT worth the horrendous jaggies that are everywhere, even with the stupid "smooth edges" option on maximum.

Please change this, NC. Jaggies are ugly and I can't stand looking at them.[/QUOTE]

I have to agree.

Areiia - Israphel 05-12-2011 04:02 PM

Re: No more Antialiasing option.
 
Can you guys post images of what your talking about? I've not seen jaggies at all since using the Ultra setting or are you talking about the default settings?

Aiada - Tiamat 05-12-2011 04:40 PM

Re: No more Antialiasing option.
 
[QUOTE=Electrickrypt - Vaizel;935299]I am not even going to respond to this.



That option is crap. I was still left with jagged edges. I will continue to use Morphological Filtering until there is AA support.



I have to agree.[/QUOTE]

That option is only available to 68xx series and maybe 5xxx? 4xxx radeon users are screwed, sadly. Why in the word would they get rid of AA in the first place?


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.