Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71  
Old 04-11-2012, 02:16 PM
Elyos
  • Rank: Soldier
  • Posts: 4
Default Re: No more Antialiasing option.

3.0 has no AA, I had t working in 2.5 why did they remove it?
  #72  
Old 04-11-2012, 04:17 PM
Elyos
  • Rank: Officer
  • Posts: 35
Default Re: No more Antialiasing option.

yeah .. i want better graphics :#
  #73  
Old 04-11-2012, 07:02 PM
Asmodians
  • Rank: Governor
  • Posts: 1,146
Default Re: No more Antialiasing option.

You can still force AA on in your graphics card control panel if you really want it, otherwise just try Bloom Type 2 for a similar effect but less taxing on your system.

I do agree there should be more detailed options, such as Anti-Aliasing and Ansiotropic Filtering as well as forcing on both Vsync and Triple Buffering and having them both enabled/disabled at the same time to prevent a performance hit.
__________________
Patch 4.5 Launcher Help/Issues MegaThread:
http://forums.na.aiononline.com/na/showthread.php?t=125568

Aion Technical Issues Fixes:
http://forums.na.aiononline.com/na/showpost.php?p=1365422&postcount=1
  #74  
Old 04-12-2012, 02:50 AM
Asmodians
  • Rank: Soldier
  • Posts: 7
Default Re: No more Antialiasing option.

Well im interested about this thread because i think is unfair that i bought a new graphic card and still this issue with the AA. I did a research about this 2.5 Engine and Nvidia graphic cards.

First when 2.5 comes out there was a big problem with the shadows

Proof: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-YCjF063GLQ
More info: http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=201416

And the problem with the Anti aliasing is kinda lol... it cuts all concept of art with those stair lines ¬¬. I was looking for more information about that problem with the antialiasing, yeah theres a new option wich is "trying to help" to fix this problem but really dont works..

Now i was trying to fix the problem in my own way so i changed some values in the Nvidia control panel and i got this:

Im not even using the Bloom effect 2 its the first one.


http://i722.photobucket.com/albums/w...Aion0000-1.jpg

My card is a GeForce GT520.

I know the lines still yet but at least they dont "show alot like before", the problem is my fps are slow 20 - 30 max now.

What do you think about the picture? is a good configuration? cause im tired of beign playing with default graphics when i can play with the new ones.

I dont know if i will be able to use them in PVP but at least i can lvl up with them.

Please comment and dont be rude about my english ><. its my first day playing in the real aion :P.

Last edited by Takaishi - Siel; 04-12-2012 at 02:52 AM.
  #75  
Old 04-13-2012, 08:01 AM
Elyos
  • Rank: Soldier
  • Posts: 3
Default Re: No more Antialiasing option.

Using the new 301.24 Nvidia drivers you can force FXAA in the game along with the in-game "Line Smoothing" Gives you great results on Transparent Alpha objects like leaves,trees and what not.


And from what i've seen with Vsync currently is that the Vsync option in game puts a 60FPS cap on the game (without it there is a 67FPS cap anyway) AND it seems it uses Triple Buffering already. Because with Double Buffering, if you dip below 60 you automatically drop to 30FPS. In Aion you can limit your FPS to 40 for example and have vsync on and get 40FPS still. So it HAS to have Triple Buffering already with the current Vsync.


AF can be forced with NVCP or Nvidia Inspector.

If you have a decent system you can also do Downsampling.
My monitor resolution is 1600X900 and I can run 60FPS fine downsampling from 2560x1440 if I wanted to.(gives pretty good results as well. 2560X1440 is 4X the resolution of 1280X720 and about 2.6 times 1600x900)


If you use the default engine you can also force AA and TrAA from NVCP or Inspector as well.

Last edited by Vosse - Siel; 04-13-2012 at 08:04 AM.
  #76  
Old 04-15-2012, 03:14 PM
Asmodians
  • Rank: Governor
  • Posts: 1,146
Default Re: No more Antialiasing option.

Vosse I don't see those 301.24 drivers for my graphics card.
So yeah, forcing AA might work but I'd rather not lag it down even more. Damn 32-bit client

EDIT: Antialiasing is still available in-game in the 'default' client, but not in the 'high quality client', so there ya go.
__________________
Patch 4.5 Launcher Help/Issues MegaThread:
http://forums.na.aiononline.com/na/showthread.php?t=125568

Aion Technical Issues Fixes:
http://forums.na.aiononline.com/na/showpost.php?p=1365422&postcount=1

Last edited by Traxion - Tiamat; 04-16-2012 at 07:14 PM.
  #77  
Old 04-21-2012, 11:34 PM
Asmodians
  • Rank: Soldier
  • Posts: 24
Default Re: No more Antialiasing option.

Tried the SMAA injector since I hate FXAA. http://mrhaandi.blogspot.com/p/injectsmaa.html

Doesn't work.

/wrists
__________________
My system specs: http://forum.daow.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4#p99
  #78  
Old 04-22-2012, 08:12 AM
Asmodians
  • Rank: Governor
  • Posts: 1,146
Default Re: No more Antialiasing option.

Anti-Aliasing isn't available/compatible with the new client, although I seem to be able to force it on in the Nvidia Control Panel without ill side effects.

UPDATE: AA is renamed to the 'Outline Smoothing' but it actually works now. According to ChubbySumo, both Outline Smoothing and Shadowing were bugged and not working previously (changing the setting had minimal/no effect) so now that they're working a lot of people saw FPS drops and wondered 'wtf?'. There ya go, thank the Sumo
Also it may help to manually set the 'Character View' to either Low, Medium, or High depending on your hardware specs. If you aren't sure then just keep it at Low or Medium. The 'Auto' setting seems to be buggy, again according to ChubbySumo.
__________________
Patch 4.5 Launcher Help/Issues MegaThread:
http://forums.na.aiononline.com/na/showthread.php?t=125568

Aion Technical Issues Fixes:
http://forums.na.aiononline.com/na/showpost.php?p=1365422&postcount=1

Last edited by Traxion - Tiamat; 04-25-2012 at 06:04 PM.
  #79  
Old 05-16-2012, 05:11 AM
Asmodians
  • Rank: Soldier
  • Posts: 24
Default Re: No more Antialiasing option.

^ That has worked, but as people said, it's only for foliage.

Character models, texture models, terrain, etc., are all still aliased.

Not only that, but the outline smoothing option really blurs objects that it affects while also giving them more definition. A double edged blade, one that I don't like yet at the same time use due to wanting at least some type of anti-aliasing.

As for FXAA, I'm not even going to try it, it's a terrible method of anti-aliasing. SMAA is so much better; shame it doesn't seem to work. If I had to guess, it probably has something to do with the .bin format of the game.
__________________
My system specs: http://forum.daow.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4#p99
  #80  
Old 06-02-2012, 11:09 AM
Elyos
  • Rank: Soldier
  • Posts: 1
Default Re: No more Antialiasing option.

I tried Nvidia Inspector... (exclusive For nvidia video card users).. and it works fine with me....... with performance still smooth...
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:18 PM.